Increase text size Decrease text size
Green Theme Standard Black-White Theme
Childline 1098 Night & Day
Click Here To Support Childline

Open All | Close All

Anchorage Orphanage Case

Contact Us

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

CHILD Protection & Child Rights » VI. Regional Mechanisms » Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was instituted on 8 August 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand, with the signing of the ASEAN Declaration (also known as the Bangkok Declaration) by the Foreign Ministers of Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand. There are currently ten members of ASEAN with Brunei Darussalam, Viet Nam, Lao PDR, Myanmar, and Cambodia joining on later dates. The objectives of ASEAN are as follows:

  • To create a equal and just community of countries that aim at the economic growth, social progress and cultural development of the region and endeavour for peace and prosperity
  • To follow the rules of the United Nations Charter so as to promote regional peace and stability by respecting the law that governs the relationships between the south East Asian countries.
  • To mediate a collaborative and mutually assisting group of countries with the aim of meeting a common goal in the economic, social, cultural, technical, scientific and administrative fields
  • To provide support to each other in the form of education and research services in the educational, professional, technical and administrative spheres.
  • To collaborate between countries so as to allow their agricultural and industrial sectors to flourish under proper guidance and quality
  • To encourage Southeast Asian studies
  • To collaborate with other international bodies with similar aims and purposes hence allowing and ASEAN states to better work together

ASEAN concentrates its work in three communities: ASEAN Political-Security Community, ASEAN Economic Community, and ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community.

For more information visit the ASEAN website